If you read my first post then you caught my shameful confession.

I have 5 (yes, 5!) unfinished writing projects.

I know, I know. I should be a ashamed of myself. And believe me, I am.

I think 2016 hit us all pretty hard. The good news it, The Year That Shall Not Be Named is over. This means I can get crackin’ on Writer Resolution #4. So, here’s a little of what I have in store for 2017:



For a McKinnon, the rules are simple.

  • Tell the truth.
  • Don’t break the law.
  • Take care of your own.

Sounds simple enough, but when you’re a card-carrying savant, your uncle is a disgraced ex-cop, your mother owes $100,000 to the local mob boss—the same local mob boss your ex-boyfriend happens to work for—and your father is less than a distant memory, following one rule means breaking the rest.

For most McKinnons, breaking the rules doesn’t end well.

For Maeve McKinnon, it usually ends with someone wrapped in a plastic and dumped in the Dorchester.

Birds Nest

When Jena Lancaster was 10-years-old, she came home from school to find her mother dead on their kitchen floor. Left alone with her father, she endures years of abuse before she realizes that like her mother, she will never be set free.

Knowing her choices are stay and die or run and fight, Jena finds an inner-strength she never knew she had. Leaving everything behind, she seeks sanctuary in the same place her mother did during those brief times she found the courage to leave herself.

Like her mother, Alec and Libby Foster would do a anything for her. Their daughter, Olivia is her only friend and she’s been in love with their son, Braxton for as long as she can remember. But once Jena finds her mother’s journal, memories begin to surface that convince her that her mother’s tragic death isn’t what everyone believes it is. Faced with the truth, Jena must find her own courage if she is ever to be truly free.


Businessman in suit with crossed hands behind back. Supervision concept

As the second son of a wealthy and powerful military contractor, Ben Shaw had it all. An up and coming surgeon, his life existed far away from the dangerous business that his older brother, Mason, and his father were steeped in. He enjoyed all of the perks and suffered none of the consequences. Which is exactly how he wanted it.

But when Mason is killed, Ben’s life is knocked off course forever. 15 years later, he exists far away from the pampered life of a celebrated surgeon, seeking revenge, not only on the people who killed his brother, but the man who did nothing to save him. His father.

Now a US Senator, Ben finds himself the target of the same people who killed his brother, an organization known only as The Family. Racing against time, Ben must enlist the help of those who he’s helped in the past if he has any hope of  survival.